Launch of New Secretary’s Teacher Advisory

Launch of New Secretary’s Teacher Advisory

The NM Public Education Department is Equipping, Empowering & Championing Teachers by Launching the 2nd Cohort of the Secretary’s Teacher Advisory Committee

Last week, the Public Education Department announced the launch of the 2017-2018 cohort of the Secretary’s Teacher Advisory Committee. After a rigorous selection process from 242 applicants, 26 teachers representing 23 school districts and 1 state authorized charter school were chosen to serve on the committee.

The Secretary’s Teacher Advisory will have the opportunity to continue to build upon the foundation established by the first cohort by developing teacher leadership opportunities, providing guidance and perspective to the department, and ultimately helping better serve New Mexico’s students by establishing a solutions-oriented connection between the PED and educators. The first cohort of the advisory established the Annual New Mexico Teacher Summit, helped launch the New Mexico Teacher Leader Network, co-hosted community ESSA meetings during the New Mexico Rising Tour, and created new resources for New Mexico’s teachers.

“This was my greatest honor as an educator. For the first time in my career I felt valued, empowered, and reinvigorated. I was able to express my concerns and share my passion for education – I finally had a voice!” said Cohort 1 STA member Ashley Randall of Rio Rancho Public Schools. “It was wonderful to network and interact with the PED staff.  I acquired a great deal of information and always returned to my school/district to share my knowledge. My leadership skills and teaching practices have improved because of the STA.”

Teacher Advisory members meet with Acting Education Secretary Christopher Ruszkowski at in-person quarterly meetings and monthly conference calls to provide valuable insight into education issues across the state and gain access to new and up-to-date information.

“Under the leadership of Governor Susana Martinez, our department is always looking for new ways to equip, empower, and champion teachers and school leaders across the state,” said Secretary Ruszkowski. “Our educators have had and will continue to have a voice in the decision making process that ultimately determines what goes on in their classrooms. I look forward to working with the advisory committee and listening to their ideas to improve education.”

The new cohort’s first meeting took place on Saturday, August 12th. The department will work side-by-side with the STA members to compile agendas for each meeting.

“It was an honor to be on this committee.  I learned so much and loved being informed about what was going on in the PED,” said former STA member Perri Hathorn of Eunice Municipal Schools. “I loved being a part of such a wonderful group.  We really did make a difference!

The following educators were selected to serve on the 2017-2018 Secretary’s Teacher Advisory:

Felicitas Adame-Reyes Rio Rancho Public Schools
Leslie Baker Taos Municipal Schools
Dawn Bilbrey Texico Municipal Schools
Julia Burrola State Authorized Charter
Heather Campbell Hobbs Municipal Schools
Jayne Combs Portales Municipal Schools
Maria Haase Artesia Public Schools
Joel Hutchinson Las Cruces Public Schools
Jacob Kolander Albuquerque Public Schools
Elizabeth Long Gallup-McKinley County Schools
Michelle Lopez Jal Public Schools
Tennise Lucas Roswell Independent Schools
Jody Martinez Cimarron Municipal Schools
Patricia Martinez Albuquerque Public Schools
John McElhinney Raton Public Schools
Roxanne Mitchell Clovis Municipal Schools
Monica Montoya Penasco Independent School District
Samantha Nelson Farmington Municipal Schools
Monica Nunez Gadsden Independent Schools
Ashley Randall Rio Rancho Public Schools
Aoife Runyan Santa Fe Public Schools
Robin Stevens Eunice Public Schools
Rena Stone Mesa Vista Consolidated Schools
Andrea Thomas Central Consolidated Schools
Alysha Wagley Animas Public Schools
Kathy Zimmermann Deming Public Schools

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *